Where’s the world that doesn’t care? Maybe I could meet you there?

I woke up this morning only to discover that I had reached 1,000 views on my blog! I was so pleased when I saw this and felt like writing something. However, I appear to be suffering from extreme writers block at this current moment so I decided to take up the opportunity to use WordPress’ feature called ‘inspire me’ which seems to be a random generator giving you an idea to write about something, and the following text is basically my brief:

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Now forget the song, and turn that line into the title or inspiration for your post.

It took me a while to choose a line from a song because I usually listen to a song for the music however; I eventually came to a conclusion and decided to use a line from Meet you there – Busted. The following article is about how people care too much about what others think.

***

I know this is an issue in today’s society because I feel under pressure to look presentable each and every day, even if I have nothing planned. And personally, I wish everyone had the same hair and skin, I wish make up didn’t exist and imagining a world where you can wear whatever you like without worrying about others judging you is extremely pleasant but I suppose one can only dream. Honestly, I don’t know why I bother sometimes, I have amazing people in my life and surely they couldn’t care less about what I looked like, that isn’t the reason they stick by me.

I think this is an issue that is a lot worse at a young age. Many teenagers follow the crowd to look good and prevent being judged. However, if you want to wear something outgoing then you have every right to do so. It’s simply the fact that you are paranoid about what others are going to think, if you walk down the street wearing something even slightly different to what would be classed as the norm, there is no doubt that another girl or boy of your age will look at you in a bizarre way and whisper something to their friend. It makes you feel looked down on but if you’re happy and comfortable with how you’re dressed and how you look, no matter how challenging it is, you have to rise above it. You may have heard someone saying things behind your back about your style, learn to ignore it. We’re in the 21st century and as sick as it is, bullies exist. And people are going to say things, and yes, it is disheartening but when people criticise how you look, they want a reaction and they want you to care. So surely that’s the last thing you want?

The worst thing you can do whilst trying not to care what others think of you is overthinking a situation. If you’re in the middle of a city or at school, look around and see how many other people are there. You’re not alone therefore, a lot of the time, people are probably not even judging you. Most people in this world don’t have the time to look at someone and soak in all their flaws and analyse them as a whole just by their imperfections, try your best not to think about what they’re thinking of you and bear in mind that they may be judging the people around you.

The people who care about what you look like are usually the ones who look at you with metaphorical microscopes as eyes and judge people they don’t even know for a mile off whereas people who don’t obsess over others tend to look at you as a whole person not just what you look like by the way you dress and how you have your hair and make-up. There is no point in wasting your time worrying what others think about you, it will make your life hell for a good few years if you continue to allow the criticism get to your head. If you begin to let yourself feel positive about yourself and your style, as you venture out into the public, you’ll feel confident outdoors too and will stop feeling like everyone cares about what you look like.

If you never accept yourself, as harsh as it is, people will never accept you. Be who you want to be. If people want to be an acquaintance of yours then they will not care what you look like or how you dress and if they do care then I can tell you now that they’re not worth a second of your time. If you’re someone who doesn’t judge others, then you’re instantly better than the people who obsess over how others look. Take no notice and walk around with a smile on your face at all times so everyone knows you don’t care what they think.

‘Where’s the world that doesn’t care? Maybe I could meet you there?’

tumblr_luoeouFGqP1qmh3txo1_cover

Leave a Reply

