12/02/13

Today I started at 9:30am again, I made my way over to my desk and met the woman who is sitting opposite me, her name is Sofia. She took me upstairs and introduced me to the 3 girls who are in charge of events. Their names were Hannah, Karen and Bex and all 3 of them are lovely!

They told me the brief plan of the day and they took me downstairs to the operations centre. They informed me about everything to do with events and that this time of year is the busiest for them. They have many runs and abseiling activities planned over the next few months with various schools and they told me they don’t have a free weekend for a lot of the year now!

They give each challenger a goodie bag at the start of their fundraiser event which contained a t-shirt, a goodie (wallets, water bottles, playing cards, caps etc) and a geo bar. They had 3 different coloured bags: blue, orange and green. And for about 3 hours, we were packing the bags. Small t-shirts in the blue, medium in the green and large in the orange. It was quite stressful because me and one of the girls got chatting a lot and ended up packing large t-shirts in the blue bags so we had to go through them all and sort that out but we had Bruno Mars playing so it was slightly more bearable! We must have packed about 300 bags!

They then took me back up to their desks where Karen and Bex showed me how they sort out the challengers consent forms. I went for my lunch break and when I came back they told me all about the social media they used. They showed me their facebook and twitter page. And let me write two stories for their facebook page! One called ‘challengers of the month’ which was about 2 girls who cycled to school every day to raise money for their expedition and I wrote one about Pancake Day fundraising ideas (see links below) I’m working with them again on Thursday which will be good fun!

http://www.facebook.com/notes/world-challenge-uk-events-fundraising/challenger-of-the-month-february-2013/568335073184370

and

I came back down to my desk at 3:30pm, had a lovely cup of tea and then made my way to Pats office. Pat is the man in charge of the US business, he organises the Boston trips so I found out some information from him about global sites along with information I have on the middle east, south east Asia and South Africa which I will be writing about tomorrow.

I am now editing the stories I wrote yesterday after Matt proof read them and told me I had to cut them down by half!

Tomorrow I have 3 interviews and lots of writing to do! But I’m looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

